|Uki Business Locator|
The beautiful village of Uki is situated 13.8km from Murwillumbah on the South Arm of the Tweed River and is fringed by the stark outcrop of Mount Warning.
Originally the area was known as Rowland’s Creek and was a centre for cedar getting in the mid 1850s.
Dairying began to rival timber as the main agricultural activity with the butter factory and sawmill being the economic hub for settlers in the many surrounding valleys.
A school opened in 1895 and the name was changed from Rowland’s Creek to Uki in 1906. The indigenous name means bandicoot.
The main street is heritage listed and the many old buildings take the visitor back in time and the village boasts an active historical society keen on preserving the heritage of Uki and district.
The monthly markets are held at the old butter factory on the third Sunday of every month.
Facilities include a post office, general store, hotel, chemist, cafes and galleries.
Just four kilometres from Uki is the picturesque Clarrie Hall Dam which is the major water storage facility for the Tweed Shire.